top of page
  • Writer's picturealexblair333

Aspiring for New York City

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

Happy New Decade to you all.


I hope that you accomplished your goals in 2019.

If not, then bring on 2020.


I don't really believe in New Year's Resolutions.


How often do people actually stick to them?


After the over-indulgences of Christmas, people (usually with the upmost sincerity) make a solemn oath with themselves to lose weight/quit smoking/read more/go to the gym/save more money, whatever.


But come February, people's discipline dissipates, and they fall back into the same old habits.


Whether it's you yourself or other people you know, this is an EXTREMELY common and counter-productive pattern .


I set goals, yes, but YEAR ROUND.


If you really want to make a change in your life, then why wait until January 1st?


*


Today I will show you exactly how to use my 'What-Why-How' method for goal setting.


I'm going to apply it to my biggest dream.


Let's go.



WHAT: to live in New York City.


I've told you the vital importance of getting SPECIFIC with your goals.


So here goes.


Before the clock strikes midnight on December 31, 2028, I want to be living in New York with my fellow Aspirer.


And I don't just want to live there, but to thrive there.


I want to life to be action-packed, with each and every day filled with endless excitement, only to be surpassed in its excellence by the next.


Each and every day, I want to wake up determined, and go to bed satisfied, knowing that I'd done all I could to get one step closer to my dreams, hopes and goals.


And above all, I want to enjoy the buzz of the city which - for many reasons - I view as the greatest in the world.


Let me explain.



WHY: the emotions that city made me feel...

ALIVE.


ENERGISED.


INSPIRED.


There's something in the New York air that shits all over boredom and laughs in the face of adversity.


And it's true; it has this unparalleled buzz, an atmosphere that just makes you want to achieve your wildest dreams and beyond.


When you're there, it feels like the centre of the universe, immersed in the thick of the action, where everything significant is happening.


In many ways, it is the capital of the entire world.


And yes, it is one of the most expensive cities in the world.


But that's partly because it's the ENVY of the world.


People want to live there; they want to be a New Yorker.


They're jealous of the fast-paced New York lifestyle.

They're jealous of New York's domineering skyline, blazing neon signs and world-famous landmarks.

They're jealous of New York's booming, thriving, flourishing atmosphere.


And of course, they're jealous of New York's prosperity.


The city's Federal Reserve Bank has the largest gold storage in the world, with a vault that contains $90 billion in gold.


The city has 103 billionaires, more than any other city in the world (compared to 93 in Hong Kong, the second most).


Try walking down Central Park South - the most expensive street in NYC, on which the average property is sold at $10 million - and saying that NYC isn't prosperous.


Central Park South

So yes, it's expensive.


But that's partly what attracts me to it.


Even living there is a challenge for many, but I Aspire to thrive there, maxing out and upgrading EVERY area of life, from my career, to language learning, to fitness, to relationships.


The prosperity is just the beginning.


Over 800 languages are spoken in a daily basis in New York.


800!


It's the most culturally diverse city in the world, and with my love for language learning and travel, this would suit me PERFECTLY!


Imagine all the different people from different backgrounds I'd get to meet!


And there are so many other enticing places within this great metropolitan hubbub; the breathtaking views over the East River from the Brooklyn Bridge...




...and the leafy respite of Central Park...



...and the awe-inspiring skyline views from Rockefeller Centre...




I regularly visualise what my daily life in New York would be like.


Even the little things that may seem mundane, like a commute to work, will be made ten times more exciting by being in the city.


Not to mention sunset views over the city's skyline.

Meeting a friend in Central Park during lunch breaks.

Snow falling in the streets at Christmas.


I cannot WAIT for it to become my reality.


The Empire State Building ... simply stunning

HOW: hard work, Hard Work, HARD WORK


There isn't a clear, obvious path that leads me directly to my dream.


I'll have to uncover it on the way.


But that's the fun part, right?


Not just taking a step into the unknown, but foraying deeply, without hesitation.


First of all, I'll need to complete my studies to the best of my ability, and ideally gain some work experience at the same time.


I currently work part-time for Globe 9 International, an events and marketing company in Liverpool where I go to university, and I'm learning SO MUCH at what is undoubtedly a fantastic opportunity.


Marketing may well be my future, as its creative side interests me greatly, but I've made no certain decisions about what my future career will entail.


After university, getting a good job which I enjoy will be the main priority (although ideally with enough time off to travel and see the world!)


From then on, it'll be vital that I am coachable, willing to learn, and willing to put in the hard work; these core principles will provide the basis on which I can grow, improve and progress.


Obviously, I'll need to earn and save enough money to move out to the USA, and move into a (probably small) apartment in NYC by the end of 2028.


For me, location matters a lot more than size.


I'd value a tiny apartment in Manhattan far more than a huge house in the middle of nowhere.


But to be honest, if it's New York we're talking, I'd probably make do with a coat propped up on sticks ... my longing to live there is that strong!


I hope this post gets you thinking about your dreams, whether it be somewhere you Aspire to live, or travel to, or anything.


My 'What-Why-How' method is great for breaking down our dreams, and what's more I'm giving it to you for free, so go ahead and utilise it!


And while you're at it, remember that You'll Never Walk Alone.



Until the next time...



Alex (N.Y.A.)


 

Something Extra


Visualising New York, I can completely lose myself, immersed in picturing the city's delights in as much detail as possible:


Waking up early, and starting my day off perfectly by exercising; walking down the snowy streets of Fifth Avenue or Bleecker Street in the cold of winter to get to the gym; running down streets and through parks in the warmth of summer.


Returning to my apartment for breakfast and preparing for the day ahead; maxing out the time I spend working will be essential as I seek to grow and improve my quality of life!


Winter lunch breaks spent in the snug warmth of New York's many coffee shops.

Summer lunch breaks spent basking in the sun on the grass of Central Park.


Meeting my friends, family or a girlfriend after work, heading for a bite to eat, a Broadway show, a concert, or a Knicks' game at Madison Square Garden!


Working on a side hustle, learning languages, reading, planning travels; all will fill any spare moments, resulting in a eventful, action-packed lifestyle (IDEAL for me).


Collapsing into bed exhausted, but satisfied, and raring to go again tomorrow.


So that's my dream.


What's yours?



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page