top of page
  • Writer's picturealexblair333

Injuries: Fighting The Psychological Battle

Updated: Apr 23, 2020

About 15 months ago, I had my back realigned.


Growing up, I'd always suffered from some form of lower back pain, but always put it down as a drawback of being tall, and tried to push through it.


But last January, it reached a level of pain I could no longer tolerate.


As a regular exerciser and sportsman, I finally had to accept that it was seriously impeding my ability to perform on the pitch, on runs, and in the gym.


For those of you who have to endure lower back pain*, you can relate - shooting pain caused by even the most mundane, everyday tasks, from tying my shoelaces to sitting at a desk.


*(If you do, you should read this post on banishing the bane of lower back pain)*


So I decided to see a physiotherapist.


I was expecting the usual massage and advice: "rest up for a little while", "do these stretches daily".


Instead, I was in for a shock.


The relentless pain in my lower right back had been caused by extremely tight hamstrings and groins, and, in turn, this had forced my right hip to be pushed upwards.


As a result, my hips had become completely imbalanced.


The left was several inches higher than the right.


Anyway, the physio had to complete a back realignment, an exceptionally painful process.


I was given a personalised, extensive stretching routine to do multiple times a day, and had to adjust the way in which I did various things, from walking, to sitting, to sleeping (it's harder than you'd think to sleep face up when you've always been a sideways sleeper...)


I also had to stop exercising for a minimum of three months.


Now, before you start, let me say this: I get that, using perspective, three months isn't the longest time.


Some of you may even be thinking: "what's he moaning about ... not having to exercise for three months sounds great!"


Not to me.


As someone used to being active every day, it was torture.


The most intense exercise I did for months was a gentle walk.


I had to stop running, skip workouts, and miss sports matches.


If you've ever suffered from a serious injury, you'll know exactly the type of battle I'm about to describe.


Sometimes, injuries to athletes can trigger or unmask serious mental health issues, such as depression, anxiety, binge eating, or substance abuse.

Athletes have to undergo serious mental journeys to overcome injuries

For people who enjoy being active, who thrive off exercise-induced endorphins, being sidelined is actually more excruciating than the injury itself.


Yes, a broken leg, dislocated shoulder, or torn ACL is extremely painful.


But it's that feeling of helplessness, of inertia, that is the real soul-crusher.


I won't lie to you: it fucked with me mentally.


As someone who'd never really had to deal with serious injuries, I let it get to my head.


Friends and family noticed a lack of my usual positive, optimistic energy.


At first, I really struggled to motivate myself to do other productive things.


But that's the key.


You HAVE to use your newfound extra time for something else that you'll grow from.


Otherwise it's easy to fall into a depressed slump.


So, instead of just moping around feeling sorry for myself, I made a choice.


I started capitalising on my extra hours: I read more books; I fixed my diet to be on point for when I returned from injury; I studied more; I focused on improving my closest relationships.


And it felt great.


No, I couldn't quite 'fill the hole' left behind by exercise.


I couldn't find a worthy-replacement for that unbeatable post-workout buzz (you know what I mean...)


But I did all I could to move myself forward in other areas of life.


Then came rehab.


The most dreaded word among athletes.


Coincidentally, it was actually this exact day last year, April 20th, when mine began.


As I sit here now, in Coivd-19 quarantine, it's just gone 7:30pm.


This time last year, I'd just completed my first rehab jog, a slow, humbling process.


When you have to stop all strenuous activity due to injury, your fitness rapidly diminishes.


Despite my rehab program easing me gently back in, I still felt exhausted and overwhelmed after just minutes of jogging.


I had no idea how I would be able get through several more weeks of this.


I always advocate a 'Do It Anyway', push-yourself-to-your-limits mentality when it comes to fitness, but sometimes it IS very important to follow medical advice.


Rehab is one of those times.


Allow your body enough time to recover, and don't go all gung-ho trying to recuperate three months' worth of fitness in a week.


It won't work, and will likely set you back by re-aggravating your injury.


Patience was one of my biggest testers during rehab for my back.


I was desperate to return to my previous fitness level, but I mostly followed advice - there were a few occasions where I pushed myself too hard too soon, and nearly paid the price for it.


Having waited several months to play football again, I landed on and sprained my left elbow just two minutes in to my first training session, setting me back a further few weeks.


When I look back at that time now, a year later, I am filled with a mix of pain, and, contrarily, gratitude.


My injuries inflicted physical and mental harm, yes, but they also strengthened me.


I appreciated the gift of being active and exercising far more, and took it upon myself to learn about the anatomy of the back, desperate to avoid it happening again.


The whole saga made me mentally stronger.


There is ALWAYS something positive to take away from even the most traumatic, disheartening events in our life.


The most successful people always bend such events to their advantage.


And this is where my advice to any of you dealing with the psychological battle of injuries must be applied.


To get through recovery, you need to focus on other productive areas of your life.

To get through rehab, you need something to not just motivate, but inspire you.


For me, it was focusing on being able to play in my final football games of the seasons, including a title decider and cup final.


I was resolutely determined that I would be playing in those games, no matter what.


And it got me through it.


Bit by bit, the light jogs became less agonising.


I was able to ease into some gentle resistance training.


Slowly, gradually, step by step, day by day, the intensity increased.


And I played in those football games.


I made it back to where I am now, regularly completing two workouts a day as part of 75 Hard.


I pray that you never have to endure the physical, emotional, and psychological turmoil of a serious injury.


But if you do, come back to this blog.


Let it be a little beacon of advice, hope, and encouragement as you recover.


And you will recover, and come back stronger than before.


It's all about bouncing back stronger

In doing so, remember that You'll Never Walk Alone.



Until the next time...



Alex (N.Y.A.)



 

Something Extra


As I'm writing this now, Day 30 of 75 Hard is drawing to a close.


Nearly halfway.


I've mentioned this mental toughness program before, and want to recommend it to you again.


During this current crisis, I've seen people losing their heads, all discipline and drive dissipating.


I promise you this...


...75 HARD WILL KEEP YOU SANE.


Not only that, but it'll give you a sense of purpose.


Unlike most people, who say their days are 'dragging slowly', mine are flying by.


Over two months without a rest day, cheat meal, or sip of alcohol might sound like hell to some.


But the mental toughness, grit, and fortitude you'll gain makes it worth the sacrifice.


Thousands of others who've completed 75 Hard, like my fellow Aspirer, can back me up.


There is no better time than now.


Click here to find out more.


(Again, I'm not selling anything, it's FREE).


More to come on my 75 Hard Journey later.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page