top of page
  • Writer's picturealexblair333

The Interrailing Blog

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

Guess who's back.


Did you miss me?


I do wonder what you've been reading while I've been away interrailing.


If it was blogs of the HIGHEST quality, (like this) then you are excused.


If not, don't worry: your favourite content from the N.Y.A. is back with a bang.


So settle down, grab a drink and let my words transport you down the page...



Right now, it's 10:36am on July 22nd.

I'm sat at my desk in Brighton, England for the first time in 3 weeks.

3 weeks!

I've spent roughly that long abroad in New Zealand and Australia before, but that was with my family.


As an eighteen year-old, interrailing is the longest I've ever been away from them.


My homecoming felt amazing, but so did every single minute I spent exploring the rich cultural variety Europe has to offer.


So, by now you're probably wondering what this interrailing malarkey is exactly.


Let me explain.


We (six friends and I) bought an interrailing ticket.


This ticket gave us seven 'travel days' to use on almost all trains across almost all countries in Europe.


We simply had to write down the date of our 'travel day', then the destination of the train and just like that we were off.

Arriving In Amsterdam

The Highlights


Now, I understand that you don't want to hear about my entire holiday.

So I'll just give you the best bits.

Sound good?


Travelling is terrific.


This is an indisputable FACT.


Don't worry, I'm not about to come at you with a bunch of hippy eco vegan good-vibes-only nonsense.


I didn't start playing guitar around a campfire, or braid my hair, or (the worst of all) 'find myself' while travelling.


But the variety of lifestyle, languages, food, scenery and so much more that can be found within just one continent is unbelievable.


From breathtaking mountain backdrops and tranquillity of the Swiss Alps to the hustle and bustle of metropolitan Berlin, Europe has SO much to offer.


Me atop the Oberrothorn Mountain (of 3500 metres) near Zermatt, Switzerland

Pushing yourself out of your comfort zone is undoubtedly another key travel benefit.


Admittedly, my friends and I may have over-extended ourselves a tad with that particular mountain climb: with no map or proper hiking gear, it took us over thirteen hours (from around 8am to 10pm), we ran out of water just after we got to the top (at around 5pm) and two of my friends were unable to complete it.


But the overwhelming sense of achievement felt when we finally reached the summit was unbeatable.


It was, without a doubt, the physically and mentally toughest thing I've ever done.


Breaking those restrictive comfort zone barriers was something prominent throughout the entirety of the trip.


Overcoming the fear of making a mistake is crucial when learning to speak a language.


In Barcelona, I tried to speak as much Spanish as possible, aided by the necessity to do so as I am the only one among my friends who can.


I loved it.


Even better, I also saw a notable effort from some of them to 'give it a go' and try some Spanish despite not knowing much.


I loved that, too.


Aside from the language, Barcelona's beautiful beaches, sumptuous cuisine, vibrant nightlife and welcoming ambience enticed me.


I know I will go back there one day, maybe for more than just a holiday.


Budapest likewise captivated me.


As a young person, I can confirm that the renowned reputation Hungary's capital has for nightlife lives up to expectations, as we went out on back to back nights to the Szimpla Ruin Bar and Instant Nightclub (below).


Both surpassed our wildest dreams.

Instant Nightclub in Budapest

In the daytime, Budapest's incredible architecture (at monuments such as Heroes' Square, Fisherman's Bastion and the Széchenyi Chain Bridge) is wondrous to behold.


The cost of living is cheap, and you can get a tangible feel for the contrast between rich and poor within the city.


In Lyon, we happened to be visiting on Sunday, July 14th.


In France, this is Bastille Day (or 'La Fête Nationale'), on which the French celebrate the storming of the Bastille Fortress, a turning point in the French Revolution in 1789.


Fireworks and military processions are the norm in big French cities.


What we saw was not.


The Bastille Day festivities of 2019 coincided with the Algerian football team winning their African Cup of Nations semi-final, and - given the large Algerian population in Lyon - many took to the streets to celebrate.


Amid a fervent yet exhilarating mix of flares, flash bangs, chants, car horns, motorbikes and fireworks, the infamous French riot police decided it had gone too far.


Tear gas was thrown, and the ensuing chaos turned the streets of Lyon into a war-zone (also seen in Paris and Marseille).


Police and protesters clashed.

Buildings were smashed.

Fires were started.

(See the extent of the damage here).


We got to witness it all first hand, running around the streets of Lyon full of adrenaline.

Sometimes you have to be willing to take a risk.


Despite all of our experiences, we all came through unscathed (bar a quick visit to the Austrian A&E in Vienna after one friend crashed his electric scooter into a taxi) and felt better for having taken these chances.


I wouldn't change one bit.


From renting bikes on ferries in Amsterdam to electric scooters at sunset in Vienna (as well as planes, trains, canoes, metros, trams and lots of walking elsewhere) we undoubtedly experienced our fair share of different ways to travel.


The same can be said with food, from paella and tapas in Barcelona to goulash in Budapest.


To see more of my interrailing travels, check out my Instagram.


For those of you who like numerical stuff, here you have my rankings of the seven places:


1) Barcelona* = 9.5/10

2) Budapest = 9/10

3) Swiss Alps = 8.5/10

4) Amsterdam = 8/10

5) Vienna = 7.5/10

6) Lyon = 7/10

7) Berlin** = 7/10


*Barcelona just about edges out Budapest for #1 spot because of the language.

Both were brilliant.


**We only spent one night in Berlin so last place may be unfair (we were only there from 8pm on July 3rd until 5am on July 4th).



Interrailing may not be the most glamorous way to travel (although most of our Airbnb apartments were gorgeous) but the authenticity and variety you gain from it is unparalleled.


On a broader note, I cannot emphasise the importance of travelling enough.


Breaking away from your normal (and perhaps mundane) routine will do you wonders.


It will make you happier.


Seeing different parts of the world will make you more aware, more interesting, and more appreciative for what you have.


Coming home to your loved ones after it all will ensure you cherish them even more.


So value them, value travelling, and value yourselves.



Remember that You'll Never Walk Alone.



Until the next time...



Alex (N.Y.A)


 

Something Extra


Oh I know you've missed these.


Not to worry, my little tips, insights and ideas are back and better than ever.


This one is relevant to travelling.


With so much to see in so many different places, finding the time to do it all is very, very hard.


For me, one simple factor is crucial to maximising your experiences.


Sleep.


Let me explain.


First of all, you DO need sleep.


It's important.


You want to feel good when you're out and about in different cities, and the wear and tear of travelling can be knackering.


I get that.


But what I don't get is why anyone would pay lots of money to travel to all these amazing places, only to want to spend more time sleeping and lazing around rather than actually experiencing them.


For me, I followed one simple formula while interrailing:


Time > Sleep


I can sleep all I want back home.

(Not that I will, because I value my time more than that).


Over the two nights we spent camping in the Alps, I slept a total of three/four hours.


And that was with a thirteen hour, 3500 foot mountain climb in between it.


If you push yourself, you'll find that you really can do more than you'd ever expect running on less sleep.


I'm not saying to sleep only three hours a night: that was an extreme circumstance.


But perhaps you should evaluate how much time you say you 'need' for sleep (anything more than eight hours is inexcusable) and instead make the most of the hours you get.


This is relevant both when travelling and when at home.


Personally, I find that sleep quality is superior to sleep quantity.


Seven good, undisturbed hours is far better than nine fragmented hours.


FOLLOW THESE STEPS TO IMPROVE YOUR SLEEP QUALITY:

  • Get more bright light (sun)

  • Get less blue light (electronic screens, particularly in the hour before bed)

  • Don't consume caffeine, alcohol or food late in the evening (or at least limit it)

  • Don't nap (stop those siestas)

  • Sleep and wake up at consistent times (tough while travelling I know)

  • Exercise (but not just before bed)

  • Optimise bedroom conditions (make it dark/quiet/cool/comfortable enough)


Experiences are what are happening while your head is on your pillow.


Get up and see the world.


Look forward to the memories of right now, especially when travelling.


You're welcome.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page