top of page
  • Writer's picturealexblair333

Meant To Be?

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

People often ask me why I'm a Liverpool football fan.


Yes, I was born in Brighton.


But my Dad was born in Liverpool.


His side of the family were originally Scousers, hence why he grew up supporting The Mighty Reds.


Hence why I support them.


There's something very hereditary about which football team you support, whether that be in England, or across Europe in countries like Spain and Italy, or in South America in countries like Argentina and Brazil.


A father taking his son to watch their team live for the very first time is a deep-rooted, ingrained custom - almost ritualistic.


I'll never forget mine.


Liverpool vs Sunderland, 2010.


A 3-0 win for us.


A certain Fernando Torres scored a screamer only three minutes in.


You can imagine my excitement.


Anfield, as I have told you before, is my Mecca.


I had dreamt about going there ever since I knew what football was.


The scarves, the flags, the banners, the pitch, the atmosphere.


Safe to say, it didn't fall short of expectations.


Football, whether it be playing or watching, is one of the few things that can completely and entirely capture my attention.


It engrosses me so much that I forget about the present moment.


For ninety minutes, I, and many others, can forget about whatever is going on in your life, good or bad.


The incredible power of football can be harnessed to galvanise nations, fuel political campaigns or simply make someone's weekend a whole lot better.


But what happens if someone's happiness becomes entirely dependent on the results of their football team?


Self-neglect.


Let me explain.


First of all, I will admit that I am as fanatic as many football fans.


Liverpool players' posts dominate my Instagram feed; LFC posters, scarves, pillowcases, mugs and shirts dominate my bedroom; playing and watching football often dominates my weekend.


But I know that football isn't everything.


It isn't going to be my career (long gone are the wishful days of wanting to 'go pro').

It isn't within my control (I don't pick the starting Liverpool team each week).

It isn't the most important factor of my life (relationships, work, fitness and self-development are among some of the others).


And I know the desolate, miserable feeling after watching your team lose.


It's indescribably awful.


It has ruined many an evening, weekend and even week for me.


Going through these lows it what makes the highs so f*****g good.


Watching Liverpool win their SIXTH Champions League last June might not have felt quite as amazing had we not lost in the final the year before.


This applies to life, too.


If you get rejected at that job interview, just know it'll make it all the sweeter when (with persistence) you do land your perfect position.


Back to football: don't let it dictate your life.


It can play a big part.


You don't have to be any less of a fan.


But don't waste away your time on earth by letting the actions of others determine what you become.


Personally, I do think that football is more than just a game.


But it's not everything in life.


What about your relationships?

Your partner/children/parents/siblings?

Your physical health?

Your career?

Your mental well-being?


Don't neglect yourself.


You can do both; give your heart in supporting your team during those ninety minutes, and work on improving your life outside of them.


Why not do both at the same time?


A big part of the excellent relationship I have with my Dad is our joint love for LFC.


It's our thing.


We watch games together on TV and (when possible) live at Anfield.


We've shared some amazing memories and nights together, along with one of my closest friends, his Dad and brother.


The five of us are even part of The Brighton Kop, a fantastic group of Liverpool supporters living in Brighton. (See the Something Extra)


Through football you truly can build community and friendship.


I've seen it first-hand.


I've met people at the Brighton Kop, and now here actually in Liverpool (where I'm studying) while watching football games.


I mentioned earlier that my Dad's side of the family are Scouse.


When I opened my A-Level results and saw that I was going to the University of Liverpool, I felt a mix of emotions.


Relief, gratitude and, yes, a certain pride at the concrete evidence of my hard work.


There was also a slight sense of sadness.


I would have loved for my Grandma and Grandpa, who are no longer around, to be able to have seen me.


To be able to see me right now.


One lived in Liverpool for most of her life, and the other was actually a professor at the very same university I attend.


On the actual moving day, that bittersweet feeling was strong as I said goodbye to my family.


But before they dropped me off we got to spend some quality time together.


We went for dinner out in Liverpool as a family.


My Dad and I went to Anfield, for my first time on The Kop, and a Red win.


Not a bad way to say goodbye, all in all.


Do you see now why me living in Liverpool seems almost meant to be?


Aside from the university itself, there's something about the city that enchants me, from to the history of the place to its vibrant atmosphere to the chatty local Scousers.


There's also the family history involved, and, of course, the football.



So, in true Liverpool fashion, I'll remind you that You'll Never Walk Alone.



Until the next time...



Alex (N.Y.A.)


 

Something Extra


I've mentioned the dangers of being overly-dependent on your football team.

I've also spoken about the uniting power of the sport.


Not only that; I've seen it put into practice...


The Brighton Kop is a truly wonderful organisation.


Honest, kind, loving people who give up their time to organise mass meetups to watch Liverpool games, with their homemade banners adorning the walls and classic LFC chants vibrating from ceiling to floor.


Their mantra of 'Building Community and Friendship Through Football' is something more of us fans should be trying to do.



I only got to spend two full seasons supporting The Reds with my fellow Brighton Kopites, but I loved every second.


For me, they're truly inspirational, and is why I am giving them a shoutout right now.


If you're ever in Brighton, and you want to watch a Liverpool game on TV, head to The Brighton Kop's home (it varies each season, so check online).


This video represents the ethos and spirit of the group better than my words ever could, so go watch it, now.


YNWA.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page